Open Source Intelligence

What does the public know about you or your company?
Sometimes more than you suspect!

What is Open Source Intelligence?

Frage zu Cyber Security

Open Source Intelligence, or OSINT for short, originates from the vocabulary of the military and state authorities. At this point we do not go into the exact history of the origin, here the opinions are divided.

"OS" means Open Source (public source).
"INT", comes from Intelligence.

Open Source Intelligence refers to the exploitation of public information sources in order to gain knowledge / information. Basically it does not matter which medium the source uses: Internet, radio, video or print media. The information only has to be public, free and legal. So anyone can collect Open Source Intelligence and use it correctly, it can mean a decisive advantage over the competition - you don't have to be an expert or a hacker to do that.

 

How to use OSINT?

You are using OSINT right now! We make our knowledge publicly and freely available for you and you take it up to gain new insights. Companies and persons constantly record OSINT information: Sales, marketing and product management use Open Source Intelligence for example to improve their reach, services or sales.

We as Cyber Security experts use OSINT tools in the first phase of "reconnaissance" to increase our efficiency and effectiveness. In addition, our approach includes a sophisticated strategy and the knowledge of where to find exploitable OSINT information!
With our expertise we find public information about employees, companies and their assets that could potentially be exploited and should not be public. Furthermore, Open Source Intelligence information helps us to search for weak points in your system. This can be in the form of version numbers of a software or server or which software is used. 

Robert Ehlert

Robert Ehlert

Request an OSINT report for your company now!

How is OSINT information collected?

Passive

The definition of „passive" in penetration testing differs from the usual use of the term. „Passive" refers to methods that are inconspicuous and do not differ from the usual traffic on the website or the Internet.

A few examples are: Searching the target's website for possible vulnerabilities, searching common sources of information, reading server version numbers, employee names and emails, phone numbers, etc. 

Active

Activity comes into play when the pentester uses special tools to scan ports, vulnerabilities of non-updated Windows systems or server applications. The IDS (intrusion detection system) of the target could include these methods in the log. However, these methods are usually also inconspicuous and automated and can still be described as passive. 

Social engineering could also be used as an active method. Someone calls your company and tries to gain valuable information.

Our offer for your company

Depending on your number of employees we would like to offer you a black box OSINT report for a location of your company from specialist. A Black-Box OSINT report simulates the behavior of a real attacker who knows nothing about your company. Read here more about penetration testing and black boxes. You don't have to > make any preparations, but you shouldn't warn your colleagues to get a "real" result.

With this report, you know exactly what information in World Wide Web about your company circulates and experience no nasty surprises!

Your contact person
Robert Ehlert
Robert Ehlert


Your contact for OSINT reports. Let us make an appointment.

ADDRESS
new direction Cyber Security GmbH
Piechlerstraße 3-5
86356 Neusäß
Germany

Phone
+49 (0) 821 5 43 70-00

E-Mail
info@ndcybersecurity.de

en_USEnglish
de_DEDeutsch en_USEnglish

Open Source Intelligence

Was weiß die Öffentlichkeit über Sie oder Ihr Unternehmen?
Manchmal mehr als man ahnt!

Was ist Open Source Intelligence?

Frage zu Cyber Security

Open Source Intelligence oder kurz OSINT stammt ursprünglich aus dem Wortschatz des Militärs und staatlichen Behörden. Auf die genaue Entstehungs-geschichte gehen wir an dieser Stelle nicht ein, hier spalten sich die Meinungen.

„OS“, bedeutet Open Source (öffentliche Quelle). 
„INT“, kommt von Intelligence (Intelligenz).

Open Source Intelligence bezeichnet das Ausnutzen von öffentlichen Informationsquellen, um Erkenntnisse / Informationen zu gewinnen. Grundsätzlich ist es dabei egal welches Medium die Quelle benutzt: Internet, Radio, Video oder Druck-Medien. Die Information muss lediglich öffentlich, frei und legal sein. Jeder kann also Open Source Intelligence sammeln und richtig genutzt, kann es einen entscheidenden Vorteil gegenüber der Konkurrenz bedeuten – dazu muss man kein Experte oder Hacker sein.

 

Wie nutzt man OSINT?

Sie nutzen OSINT in diesem Moment! Wir stellen unser Wissen öffentlich und frei für Sie bereit und Sie nehmen es auf, um neue Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Firmen und Personen nehmen konstant OSINT Informationen auf: Verkaufs-, Marketing- und Produktmanagement nutzen Open Source Intelligence zum Beispiel um ihre Reichweite, Dienstleistungen oder ihren Absatz zu verbessern.

Wir als Cyber Security Experten nutzen OSINT-Tools in der ersten Phase „reconnaissance“ (Aufklärung), um unsere Effizienz und Effektivität zu steigern. Außerdem steckt in unserem Vorgehen ein ausgeklügelte Strategie und das Wissen, wo wir ausnutzbare OSINT Informationen finden!
Mit unserer Expertise finden wir öffentliche Informationen über Mitarbeiter, Unternehmen und deren Assets, die potentiell ausgenutzt werden könnten und nicht öffentlich sein sollten. Des Weiteren kommen uns Open Source Intelligence Informationen bei der Suche nach Schwachstellen Ihres Systems zugute. Dies kann in Form von Versionsnummern einer Software oder Servers sein oder welche Software verwendet wird. 

Robert Ehlert

Robert Ehlert

Fordern Sie jetzt einen OSINT Bericht für Ihr Unternehmen an!

Wie werden OSINT-Informationen gesammelt?

Passiv

Die Definition von „passiv“ unterscheidet sich bei Penetrationstests vom üblichen Gebrauch des Begriffs. Als „passiv“ werden Methoden bezeichnet, die unauffällig sind und sich nicht vom üblichen Verkehr auf der Website oder im Internet unterscheiden.

Ein paar Beispiele sind: Das Durchforsten der Website des Ziels nach möglichen Schwachstellen, übliche Informationsquellen durchsuchen, Versionsnummern von Servern auslesen, Namen und E-Mails von Mitarbeitern, Telefonnummern, usw. 

Aktiv

Aktivität kommt in’s Spiel, wenn der Pentester spezielle Tools einsetzt, um beispielsweise Ports, Schwachstellen von nicht aktualisierten Windows-Systemen oder Server-Applikationen zu scannen. Das IDS (intrusion detection system) des Ziels könnte diese Methoden in das Log aufnehmen  In der Regel sind diese Methoden aber ebenfalls unauffällig und automatisiert und können noch als passiv bezeichnet werden. 

Social engineering könnte auch als aktive Methode angewendet werden. Jemand ruft in Ihrem Unternehmen an und versucht wertvolle Informationen zu gewinnen.

Unser Angebot für Ihr Unternehmen

Abhängig von Ihrer Mitarbeiteranzahl bieten wir Ihnen gerne einen Black-Box OSINT-Bericht für einen Standort Ihres Unternehmens vom Spezialisten an. Ein Black-Box OSINT-Bericht simuliert das Verhalten eines echten Angreifers, der nichts über Ihr Unternehmen weiß. Lesen Sie hier mehr zum Thema Penetrationtests und Black-Box. Sie müssen keine Vorbereitungen treffen, sollten aber Ihre Kollegen nicht vorwarnen, um ein möglichst „echtes“ Ergebnis zu erhalten.

Mit diesem Bericht, wissen Sie genau welche Informationen im World Wide Web über Ihr Unternehmen kursieren und erleben keine bösen Überraschungen!

Ihr Ansprechpartner
Robert Ehlert
Robert Ehlert


Ihr Ansprechpartner für OSINT-Berichte. Lassen Sie uns einen Termin vereinbaren.

ADRESSE
new direction Cyber Security GmbH
Piechlerstraße 3-5
86356 Neusäß
Deutschland

TELEFON
+49 (0) 821 5 43 70-00

E-Mail
info@ndcybersecurity.de

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch